Eye Bank Association of America Chooses Alan Sugar, M.D., to Receive the Paton Award

Dr. Alan Sugar

ANN ARBOR, MI - Alan Sugar, M.D., Associate Chair and Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the University of Michigan has received the prestigious Paton Society Award from the Eye Bank Association of America (EBAA).  The Paton Award is the organization’s highest honor for corneal physicians, and is presented annually to an ophthalmologist in recognition of his or her outstanding contributions to the Eye Bank’s development and for exemplifying the precepts of R. Townley Paton, M.D., the father of modern eye banking and the founder of the first eye bank established in the United States.

Dr. Sugar, a highly regarded cornea surgeon, has been an active participant in the Eye Bank Association of America as well as the Michigan Eye Bank and Transplantation Center, where he is Medical Director.  He has chaired the Research Committee of the EBAA for the past two years and is currently Chair of the Policy and Position Research Committee.  The EBAA advocates on behalf member eye banks to ensure that there is a safe and sufficient supply of corneas available for transplantation, research and education. According to the EBAA, some 50,000 cornea transplants are performed worldwide each year, and over 90% of all these successfully restore the patient's vision.

Dr. Sugar’s research and grant funding has long involved investigations into diseases of the cornea and corneal transplants.   He is currently the Principal Investigator of the Corneal Donor Study, a national multi-center prospective study funded by the National Eye Institute.  He is the author of more than 170 papers, is a reviewer for the top-level ophthalmology journals, is on the Editorial Board of Ophthalmology, Associate Editor of Cornea, and perennially on the list of Best Doctors in America.

Dr. Sugar earned his M.D., cum laude, from the University of Michigan, completed an ophthalmology residency at Washington University in St. Louis, and then chose the University of Florida for a fellowship in cornea and external disease.  He returned to Michigan and joined the faculty in 1979 and obtained an M.S. in Clinical Research Design and Statistical Analysis from University’s School of Public Health in 1988.


Written by Randy Wallach

Last Modified: Monday, 28-Mar-2016 13:23:01 EDT