August 25, 2009

From the website of the Michigan Eye-Bank:
Eye-Bank honors Alan Sugar and William Barr with Founder's Awards

Dr. Alan SugarANN ARBOR, MI - Midwest Eye-Banks was pleased to honor Alan Sugar, M.D. and William D. Barr as Founder's Award recipients at a ceremony held on June 6.

The Founder's Award is the Eye-Bank's highest award. It is given in recognition of an individual's contribution to the success of the organization. Both Sugar and Barr serve on the Eye-Bank's Board of Directors, but their contributions do not end there.

William BarrSugar also volunteers his time to the Eye-Bank as a Medical Director, and chairs both the Medical Advisory Committee and the Research Review Committee.

Dr. Sugar is extremely dedicated and committed that our eye bank provides the highest quality, safest tissue for transplantation and ultimately, strive for clinical excellence in all of our activities… policies, procedures, quality assurance/improvement, provision of services, says Bradley Tennant, Vice President, Clinical Operations for Midwest Eye-Banks. He desires this not only for our Eye-Bank, but nationally as well.

Barr, who will be leaving the Board in July, has been on the Board for longer than any other current member, and spent two years as Board Chairman. His experience as a public school superintendent made him invaluable during Board deliberations about employee policies and benefits and issues of finances.

Furthermore, his credentials as a Lion who is recognized all over the State of Michigan helped in the organization's relationship with Lions Clubs, says Board member John Krienke

When Barr steps down from the Board, his seat will be filled by Washtenaw County Trial Court Judge Timothy Connors.

Note: Dr. Sugar, a cornea specialist, is professor and associate chair, U-M Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences. 

Last Modified: Wednesday, 08-Feb-2012 10:23:26 EST