June 11, 2013

University of Michigan Medical Student awarded the Robert I. Goldsmith, M.D., Ophthalmology Award

Sarwar Zahid, M.D., has been selected to receive the first Robert I. Goldsmith, M.D., Ophthalmology Award, established to celebrate a senior medical student’s outstanding scientific achievement or clinical prowess in ophthalmology and visual sciences.  The inaugural presentation of the award will be held during the U-M Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences Graduation and Awards Celebration dinner on Friday, June 14, 2013.

Dr. Goldsmith
Robert I.
Goldsmith, M.D.

The new award honors the late Dr. Robert I. Goldsmith, a distinguished alumnus and loyal friend of the W. K. Kellogg Eye Center. A 1957 graduate of the U-M Medical School, Dr. Goldsmith completed his residency in ophthalmology in 1957 under the mentorship of F. Bruce Fralick, M.D., and was in private practice from 1957 to 1988. Dr. Goldsmith served as Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences from 2001-2012.

Bithika S. Kheterpal, M.D., who earned her medical degree and completed her ophthalmology residency at U-M and is now Westland Medical Director for the Henry Ford Health System, made the lead gift to establish the award. "As a medical student at the University of Michigan, I found in Dr. Goldsmith the perfect mentor.  He was kind, patient, thorough, and precise," she says. “His constant presence at the Kellogg Eye Center reminds me years later that the journey from medical student to clinical practitioner is just the beginning of a long, fulfilling career in ophthalmology.”

Paul P. Lee, M.D., J.D., Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, and Director of the Kellogg Eye Center noted, "This endowment is a fitting tribute to Dr. Goldsmith's dedication to teaching young medical students.  We are especially pleased to recognize Dr. Zahid, and future recipients, for their intellectual curiosity, integrity, and dedication toward preventing and curing eye disease."

Dr. Goldsmith was a member of the American Medical Association, a Fellow in the American College of Surgeons, a Diplomate of the American Board of Ophthalmology, and a member of the Lions Club. Dr. Goldsmith, along with the president of his medical class, was instrumental in establishing the 1951 Medical School Class Scholarship, a legacy of his commitment to nurturing medical students.

Written by Barbara Wylan Sefton

Last Modified: Monday, 28-Mar-2016 13:14:40 EDT